Perhaps you had a little too much to drink at a colleague’s retirement party. When you drove home, law enforcement stopped you on suspicion of operating under the influence of alcohol.
Your concern over the civil and criminal penalties you face is only exceeded by the fear of losing your medical license, which is due for renewal. What happens now?
First things first
As a first-time offender in the state of Massachusetts, you could face up to $2,000 in fines, suspension of your driving privileges for up to one year and possible jail time of up to 30 months. With your career and reputation at stake, your next step is to rely on legal representation to help you fight the OUI charge.
Approaching the medical board
In Massachusetts, medical license renewal typically occurs every two years. Your best approach at this time is to advise the Board about the OUI promptly. Since your renewal is coming up, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine will review your case to decide whether to take disciplinary action against you. The Board will investigate the matter and ask questions, which you must answer truthfully under penalty of perjury. The Board can either suspend or revoke your license. However, because the OUI is your first offense, you will probably retain your license. Nevertheless, you can probably expect disciplinary action of some kind, which may include participation in alcohol abuse education.
Keeping your medical license
As a physician, you could face serious consequences if you have a conviction for OUI. As you learn more about legal procedures, you will find that various kinds of errors can accompany an arrest. Your legal team could uncover officer misconduct, administrative errors or flawed results from the sobriety or breathalyzer tests you took. You want the best outcome possible for your OUI case, which helps ensure success in the upcoming renewal of your medical license.