Get Peace Of Mind With

An Unmatched Defense

Photo of attorney JW Carney Jr.

FAQs About Underage Drinking And Campus Crimes

A young adult should learn from mistakes, but one error should not ruin their opportunity to succeed. At Carney, Gaudet & Carney, it is our goal to help minimize the impact of a criminal charge on your or your child’s future. Lead by one of the most successful criminal defense attorneys in the state, we offer strong and strategic defense in court and in campus disciplinary hearings.

How Criminal Charges Affect College Students

What are the penalties for underage possession of alcohol in Massachusetts?

It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess, transport or carry alcohol in Massachusetts without being accompanied by a parent or guardian. Penalties include a fine of $50 for the first offense and up to $150 for a subsequent offense. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for 90 days.

How do campuses handle underage drinking, sex offense allegations and other policy offenses?

University and college administrations have separate disciplinary and Title IX hearings with penalties for breaking campus rules. Title IX is a federal civil rights law that requires sex crime allegations to be investigated by the school administration. These hearings do not take the outcome of criminal hearings into account, meaning you may still face campus penalties even if your name is cleared of criminal charges. You may face suspension, expulsion and a permanent citation on your student record. A sex offense citation can be especially damaging to a young person’s college career and their future. Our firm offers experienced campus disciplinary hearing defense.

What are the penalties for marijuana and pill possession on campus?

Marijuana is legal in Massachusetts for adults over the age of 21, but colleges and universities have their own drug policies that students must adhere to. For example, Harvard University has a drug-free school policy and prohibits possession, use or distribution of marijuana by anyone on campus under the age of 21. Students are also prohibited from possessing, using or distributing other illegal substances, such as pills without a prescription. Penalties for breaking these rules can range from suspension to expulsion.

Is it illegal to have a fake ID in Massachusetts?

Yes, it is illegal for minors to lie about their age to purchase alcohol. If you are found attempting to buy alcohol with a fake ID, then you can face a fine of up to $300 and will have your driver’s license suspended for 180 days.

Contact Us For Answers To Your Questions

Get a strong defense when your future is at stake. We offer premiere criminal defense in Boston and throughout Massachusetts. Fill out a contact form online to talk with a lawyer, or call 617-404-9683 for immediate assistance.